MM6 HD (Smoother Graphics) Mod

The role-playing games (I-X) that started it all and the various spin-offs (including Dark Messiah).

Moderator: Moderators

limerx
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Mar 2017

Re: MM6 HD Mod

Postby limerx » Apr 2 2017, 9:29

Thanks! Much appreciated.

limerx
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Mar 2017

Re: MM6 HD Mod

Postby limerx » Apr 2 2017, 10:19

Sorry, further help is desired.
The HD elements don't seem to be being loading in the game, are there any installation steps beyond copying the files from the RAR into the MM6 installation path?

Some background:
To my understanding I have both the patch and the extension installed, to install the patch I ran the EXE and then copied over the files from the "tmp" download into the installation path.
For the MMExtension, I only have the MMExtenisonTmp.rar download, as based on this thread - https://www.celestialheavens.com/forum/ ... 00#p367572 - it is the one to use as the original is producing a 404, do I need something more than the Tmp download?
The Patch definitely seems to work as quicksaving with F11 works, which I think was only introduced with the patch, and it is playing MP3 files.
I'm not sure how to confirm whether the MMExtension aspect is working though.
It is also worth noting that I have the files for the editor too, although I don't plan on using it, could this be an issue?

I have also played around with the files, renaming hd.sprites.lod and hd.bitmaps.lod to sprites.lod and bitmaps.lod respectively, but when I do this bitmaps.lod changes the world into funky colours and sprites.lod makes all the sprites twice the size, so I assume that this isn't the correct method :)

I'm not running the game with any compatibility mode settings and I'm using the resMod to allow me to run it in windowed mode at a higher resolution.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
GrayFace
Dragon
Dragon
Posts: 1456
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Re: MM6 HD Mod

Postby GrayFace » Apr 3 2017, 6:02

Redownload the HD, I've updated the script: https://www.dropbox.com/s/313uxife6akzr ... d.rar?dl=0 It won't fix your issue, but it will fix a few others.

limerx wrote:I'm not sure how to confirm whether the MMExtension aspect is working though.
It is also worth noting that I have the files for the editor too, although I don't plan on using it, could this be an issue?

Ctrl+F1 should bring up the console if MMExt is active.
Last edited by GrayFace on Apr 3 2017, 6:02, edited 1 time in total.
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

limerx
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Mar 2017

Re: MM6 HD Mod

Postby limerx » Apr 3 2017, 17:26

Thank you, I redownloaded and placed the files (untouched) into the installation path. As you eluded to, it does not seem to have allowed to files to load.
I pressed CTRL+F1 and it did indeed bring up a console window, so that seems to be functioning.

Any suggestions?

Edit: something has changed, after adding these new HD file the pause hourglass and hand are now twice the size they were before
Last edited by limerx on Apr 3 2017, 17:49, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
GrayFace
Dragon
Dragon
Posts: 1456
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Re: MM6 HD Mod

Postby GrayFace » Apr 4 2017, 16:16

Oops, I forgot I changed hd.sprites.lod. Please redownload https://www.dropbox.com/s/313uxife6akzr ... d.rar?dl=0
This also means that mm6hd is working for you.
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

limerx
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Mar 2017

Re: MM6 HD Mod

Postby limerx » Apr 4 2017, 19:41

Thank you, yes I am seeing a difference, maybe I was expecting too much, thanks for all your help :)

SirGallant
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Jun 2017

Re: MM6 HD Mod

Postby SirGallant » Jun 19 2017, 18:23

I installed this mod but when I ran MM6.exe it just opens MMExtension Debug Console with the following error. I have Patch v2.0 and MMExtension v2.1 installed.

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————
\Might and Magic VI\Scripts\General\mm6hd.lua:13: attempt to call field 'prot' (a nil value)

stack traceback:
\Might and Magic VI\Scripts\General\mm6hd.lua:13: in function 'dofile'
Scripts\Core\main.lua:814: in function 'dofile'
Scripts\Core\main.lua:834: in main chunk

local variables of 'dofile':
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = true
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = (userdata: 0x01af65b0)
(*temporary) = "\\Might and Magic VI\\data\\"
(*temporary) = 28272048
(*temporary) = "hd.sprites.lod"
(*temporary) = "\\Might and Magic VI\\data\\hd.sprites.lod"
(*temporary) = "hd.sprites.lod"
(*temporary) = (function: 0x01ae2e80)
(*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = "attempt to call field 'prot' (a nil value)"
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>

Any help is appreciated. :)

User avatar
GrayFace
Dragon
Dragon
Posts: 1456
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Re: MM6 HD Mod

Postby GrayFace » Jun 20 2017, 8:49

My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

SirGallant
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Jun 2017

Re: MM6 HD Mod

Postby SirGallant » Jun 21 2017, 1:57

Thank you! :) It works now.

EstelRandir
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 17
Joined: 17 Feb 2019

Re: MM6 HD Mod

Postby EstelRandir » Jun 24 2019, 5:28



I have downloaded all these files & extracted them into the main game directory. I do not see any difference. Also is this compatible with the most recent greyface patch?

User avatar
GrayFace
Dragon
Dragon
Posts: 1456
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Re: MM6 HD Mod

Postby GrayFace » Jun 25 2019, 3:17

EstelRandir wrote:I have downloaded all these files & extracted them into the main game directory. I do not see any difference. Also is this compatible with the most recent greyface patch?

You should install the newest version of the patch and ignore that old mm6patchTmp link. MMExt and MM6HD links should be fine, but only for now. https://grayface.github.io/mm/#MM6-Upscaled-Textures is the always relevant link.
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

EstelRandir
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 17
Joined: 17 Feb 2019

Re: MM6 HD (Smoother Graphics) Mod

Postby EstelRandir » Jun 25 2019, 5:20

It's working now. The difference is more subtle than the high resolution mod for MM7 & 8. It does take the "pixilated edge" off things a bit. It is a shame that these older games take so much work to redo the textures & there is the limited game memory to deal with.


Return to “Might and Magic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Almighty_Craft and 7 guests