How to mod mm6

The role-playing games (I-X) that started it all and the various spin-offs (including Dark Messiah).

Moderator: Moderators

ancistrus
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 12
Joined: 26 Sep 2010

How to mod mm6

Postby ancistrus » Sep 26 2010, 16:40

I am especially interested in changing certain annoying monster features. Some topics here mention monsters.txt. I couldnt find it anywhere so I concluded I need to access this by some tool. Can anyone provide the tool or information?

Btw I just completed really painful registration process, I am going to cut my hand and see if there arent wires inside.

User avatar
Rune_Caster
Assassin
Assassin
Posts: 293
Joined: 02 May 2010
Location: Attacking you behind a wall (Texas)

Postby Rune_Caster » Sep 26 2010, 17:56

Install grayface's patch and scroll down to the other topics about the game...

ancistrus
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 12
Joined: 26 Sep 2010

Postby ancistrus » Sep 26 2010, 18:09

Rune_Caster wrote:Install grayface's patch and scroll down to the other topics about the game...


I am sorry, but the second part of your advice is not helpful.

User avatar
Lord13
Demon
Demon
Posts: 311
Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Location: Around Harmondale

Postby Lord13 » Sep 26 2010, 18:45

Check the sticky post of forum (Mods,project and stuff) for some
useful tools/mods/pathes etc that may help you. For editors do
a google research, they are a couple of them iirc (Might and Magic Viewer
for example), I haven't mod any MnM so far, so I cannot help more
Every man dies...
Every beast dies...
Only heroes live forever!

User avatar
GreatEmerald
CH Staff
CH Staff
Posts: 3330
Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Location: Netherlands

Postby GreatEmerald » Sep 26 2010, 19:55

MM8LevelEditor can do that I believe. And also MM7View/MM7Edit.

ancistrus
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 12
Joined: 26 Sep 2010

Postby ancistrus » Sep 26 2010, 22:28

I need to point out that before even starting to consider registering to this forum I had been googling these things for some time. But as old as MM6 is the best I could find was a page that provided links to some editors that were already gone, 404. I will continue my efforts in the morning but meanwhile I would like to reformulate my request: need working link. I realize that people who posted here tried to help me the best they could, but I am sure there is someone, who can do better.

And what the hell I will be more specific, I want to completely remove the item breaking abilities from all the monsters, i saw a thread where someone offered to just make the changes and send the file to someone else who requested that sort of thing, well, since someone was willing to be that helpfull i think they can do it again, or someone else can do it again, for me, ofc i would be happier to make all the changes myself, but thats not completely neccessary, i know that nobody likes to read long sentences i am sorry i am drunk, thanks i love mm i love u, bye.

User avatar
UndeadHalfOrc
Cyber Zombie
Cyber Zombie
Posts: 1362
Joined: 13 Mar 2007

Postby UndeadHalfOrc » Sep 26 2010, 23:05

First install grayface's patch (look for the correct thread)
Then I'll send you my txt files, if you like.

ancistrus
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 12
Joined: 26 Sep 2010

Postby ancistrus » Sep 27 2010, 0:20

UndeadHalfOrc wrote:First install grayface's patch (look for the correct thread)
Then I'll send you my txt files, if you like.

Did!:) Awaiting instructions.

User avatar
motter28218
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 118
Joined: 30 Sep 2007

Postby motter28218 » Sep 27 2010, 0:44

You can download the LvlEditor at the link below, let me know if you need help using it.

http://www.mediafire.com/?mngjmdiom3w

ancistrus
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 12
Joined: 26 Sep 2010

Postby ancistrus » Sep 27 2010, 11:49

Thank you. Works well.

edit:Apparently it only works on monsters that were not already present in the saved game, is this ok or am I missing something?
edit2: A bit dissappointed that my goblins, while successfully flying, cannot cast armageddon:/

User avatar
UndeadHalfOrc
Cyber Zombie
Cyber Zombie
Posts: 1362
Joined: 13 Mar 2007

Postby UndeadHalfOrc » Sep 27 2010, 19:00

The game only loads the monsters.txt data when it loads the level for the FIRST time, or after its cycle has reset (cycle time varies according to area; for Ironfist castle and most dungeons, it's 2 years, for mire of the damned, a few months

User avatar
GreatEmerald
CH Staff
CH Staff
Posts: 3330
Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Location: Netherlands

Postby GreatEmerald » Sep 27 2010, 19:40

Yea, IIRC there are two monsters.txt, one is for the current area only.

User avatar
GrayFace
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1521
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Postby GrayFace » Sep 29 2010, 5:00

No, there's one monsters.txt. There's also internal array of monsters for map that's stored in savegame.
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

User avatar
GreatEmerald
CH Staff
CH Staff
Posts: 3330
Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Location: Netherlands

Postby GreatEmerald » Sep 29 2010, 13:25

Yea, but isn't new.lod the autosave or something like that?

User avatar
GrayFace
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1521
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Postby GrayFace » Oct 4 2010, 7:11

AFAIK, new.lod holds the last savegame.
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

User avatar
GreatEmerald
CH Staff
CH Staff
Posts: 3330
Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Location: Netherlands

Postby GreatEmerald » Oct 4 2010, 13:34

Yeap, hence the additional monsters.txt there and hence the problem that ancistrus is having.

User avatar
GrayFace
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1521
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Postby GrayFace » Oct 8 2010, 20:26

But, as I said, it's not monsters.txt there. It's in binary format, together with other data like positions of monsters etc.
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

User avatar
Rune_Caster
Assassin
Assassin
Posts: 293
Joined: 02 May 2010
Location: Attacking you behind a wall (Texas)

Postby Rune_Caster » Oct 18 2010, 7:46

Is there a way to edit the which npcs appear more often in Might and Magic 6?

Sometimes I find it annoying that I load a couple of times running around a town looking for a certain npc type like a horseman, Pirate, Navigator, Instructor etc and when I finally find one they refuse to talk to me unless I threaten them, beg them or bribe them (most of the time I get annoyed even further and they become a dead npc then I reload again)

User avatar
Rune_Caster
Assassin
Assassin
Posts: 293
Joined: 02 May 2010
Location: Attacking you behind a wall (Texas)

Just thinking...

Postby Rune_Caster » Oct 30 2010, 23:24

Do you think it might be possible to Mod Might and Magic 6 to make a World of Xeen clone with the Might and Magic 6 engine?

User avatar
GreatEmerald
CH Staff
CH Staff
Posts: 3330
Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Location: Netherlands

Postby GreatEmerald » Oct 31 2010, 8:45

Should be possible, all the mechanics are there, including text input, faling from the sky etc.


Return to “Might and Magic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests